20 Canadian Screen Award Nominations for OSM Members & Fellow Manitobans

February 13, 2019

Congratulations to On Screen Manitoba members for their 2019 Canadian Screen Awards nominations!

Kristin Kreuk is nominated for Best Lead Actress, Drama Series for Eagle Vision’s coproduction Burden of Truth. Rebecca Gibson, Kyle Irving and Lisa Meeches from Eagle Vision are nominated for Best Cross-Platform Project for Taken Knowledge Keeper. Justin Delorme is nominated for Best Original Music, Non-Fiction for Eagle Vision’s Taken. Barbara Hager, W. Paterson Ferns, Vanessa Loewen, and Desiree Single are nominated for Best History Documentary Program or Series for the APTN and Animiki See Digital Productions’ 1491: The Untold Story of the Americas Before Columbus. Vanessa Loewen, Jeff Newman, Stephanie Scott, Jocelyn Mitchell, and Desiree Single are nominated for Best Factual Series for the Animiki See Digital Productions, Indios Productions, and Nüman Films co-production First Contact. Paul Barnsley, Holly Moore, Trina Roache, John Murray, Rob Smith, Josh Grummett, Kathleen Martens, Cullen Crozier, Melissa Ridgen, Martha Troian, and Chris Read are nominated for Best News or Information Series for APTN’s APTN Investigates.

Jamie Brown, Anne Francis, Jeff Peeler are nominated for Best Factual Series for Frantic Films’ Still Standing. Jamie Brown, Carolyn Taylor, Meredith MacNeill, Aurora Browne, and Jennifer Whalen are nominated for Best Sketch Comedy Show & Ensemble Performance for Frantic Films’ Baroness Von Sketch Show. The show is also nominated for Best Writing, Variety or Sketch Comedy; Best Direction, Variety or Sketch Comedy; Best Picture Editing, Comedy; and Best Photography, Comedy. David McGunigal is nominated for Best Writing, Factual for Merit Motion Pictures’ Dr. Keri: Prairie Vet.

Manitoba-based producer and actor Tina Keeper was a producer on the film Through Black Spruce, for which alaska b is nominated for Achievement in Music – Original Score, and Brandon Oakes is nominated for Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role. Manitoban Norma Bailey is nominated for Best Direction, Drama Series for Mary Kills People, and Manitoban Erica Daniels is nominated for Best Direction – Web Program or Series for Run as One – The Journey of the Front Runners.

On Screen Manitoba thanks its sustaining partners