Announcements and highlights from All Access 2020

February 4, 2020

All Acces 2020 was a success – Thank you to all attendees, guests, delegates, partners and sponsors who made the event possible. Below are announcements and highlights.

The Honourable Cathy Cox, Minister of Sport, Culture and Heritage, Manitoba, brought greetings andRachel Rusen MargolisCEO and Film Commissioner of Manitoba Film and Music and Film (MFM), shared her vision for the Manitoba media production industry.

Rachel Rusen Margolis, CEO and Film Commissioner of Manitoba Film and Music and Film (MFM), also announced that Manitoba is the first province to sign on to Creative BC’s Reel Green and that she looks forward to working with IATSE, DGC, ACTRA and other local service organizations to roll out a made in Manitoba green initiative in the coming months. Nicole MatiationExecutive Director of On Screen Manitoba, pledged that organization’s support of MFM’s green initiative.

Monika Illethe newly appointed CEO of APTN, spoke of her vision for APTN in her mother tongue, Abenaki, as well as in French and English.

Roger BoyerJustina Neepin and Charlene Moore, co-founders of the Indigenous Filmmakers Association, announced the third edition of the Indigenous Filmmakers Summit will take place June 25 to 28, 2020.

Jesse WenteDirector, and Kerry SwansonAssociate Director, of the Indigenous Screen Office and Adriana ChartrandInstitute Manager at imagineNATIVE, shared the On-Screen Protocols and Pathways: A Media Production Guide to Working with First Nations, Métis and Inuit Communities, Concepts and Stories (available online or as hard copy in both French and English).

The APFC, the CMPA and On Screen Manitoba collectively toasted Valerie Creighton, President and CEO of the Canada Media Fund, and Louis Paquin, Producer at Les Productions Rivard, on their investiture into the Order of Canada, noting that several other media production industry professionals from across the country had also been recognized.

Nicole MatiationExecutive Director of On Screen Manitoba, launched the Content Creator Toolkit / la Boîte à outils pour créateurs, an online platform now available to On Screen Manitoba members. For more information contact

All Access 2020 Highlights Featured speakers 

Catherine TaitPresident and CEO of CBC/Radio-CanadaValerie CreightonPresident and CEO of the Canada Media Fund, and Christa DickensonExecutive Director of Telefilm Canada, shared their thoughts on the future of Canadian content.

This theme was carried through conversations with a variety of local and out-of-province speakers including Reynolds MastinPresident and CEO of the CMPA, and Beth JansonCEO of the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television, along with:

The co-creators of the Crave TV series New EdenKayla Lorette and Evany Rosen discussed the process of creating their first series as both the stars and showrunners. Filmmakers Danielle Sturk and Jim Donovan discussed their experience working in French-minority communities and Doug Mitchell and Warren P. Sonoda offered further insights into the experience of Canadian directors in today’s global marketplace.

Kyle Bornais (Farpoint Films), Jamie Brown (Frantic Films), Stephan Gabriele (Orange Iceberg Media), Kyle Irving(Eagle Vision), Lisa Meeches (Eagle Vision), Josée Vallée (Sphère Média Plus), Janelle Wookey (Wookey Films) and Rayne Zuckerman (Zazie Films) discussed the challenges and opportunities facing producers and production companies focused on making Canadian content.

Digital marketing strategies were shared by Anita Adams (First Weekend Club), Deborah Day (Innovate by Day) and Moyra Rodger (Magnify Digital). Carol Ann PilonExecutive Director of the Alliance des producteurs francophone du Canada (APFC), shared the results from an applied study on discoverability being conducted for the French-language market (read report update)

Producers David Baeta (Machine Gum Productions), Corey Loranger (Far West Productions), Leslea Mair (Zoot Pictures)and Coleen Rajotte (Vitality Television) shared their experiences working in the digital space of web series and how to enhance the discoverability of their projects.

Sessions about podcasting featured Natacha Mercure from Radio-Canada as part of the French-language programming and Leslie Merklinger from CBC Radio and Audio with GMB Chomichuk in English. 

Distributors Susan Boshcoff (Animiki See Distribution), Avi Federgreen (Indiecan Entertainment) and Pauline Mazenod (Windrose) provided practical tips for filmmakers and producers.

Numerous Canadian broadcasters (Bell Media, Blue Ant, CBC, Radio-Canada, Super Channel); funders (Bell Fund, CAVCO, Canada Media Fund, Harold Greenberg Fund, Manitoba Film and Music, Telefilm) and the National Film Board of Canada along with international funders (Ciclic, Eurimages, Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles) provided updates and met with delegates during one-on-one sessions.

Thank you again and we hope to see you all at All Access 2021!

On Screen Manitoba thanks its sustaining partners