Manitoba Government Announces Film and Video Production Tax Credit Working Group

mai 4, 2018

On Screen Manitoba is pleased to share  the important announcement issued by the Government of Manitoba below regarding the establishment of the Film and Video Production Tax Credit Working Group. On Screen Manitoba thanks the Government for their ongoing commitment to the growth of the media production industry in Manitoba.

If you have any questions regarding the Manitoba Film and Video Production Tax Credit and/or the Working Group please contact Jeff Peeler (Working Group Chair and On Screen Manitoba Board Chair) or Nicole Matiation (Executive Director On Screen Manitoba.

Note that On Screen Manitoba welcomes member feedback regarding industry concerns at any time.


Manitoba News Release

April 23, 2018


– – –

Committee Held First Meeting
April 18

The Manitoba government is following through on its Budget 2018 commitment to establish a working group to evaluate the Manitoba Film and Video Production Tax Credit, Finance Minister Cameron Friesen and Sport, Culture and Heritage Minister Cathy Cox announced today.

“We’re always looking for ways to innovate and improve our tax credit programs to ensure Manitoba can expand and diversify its thriving film industry,” Cox said.  “This group is uniquely positioned to assess and reflect on the current Manitoba Film and Video Production Tax Credit and offer its advice.”

Budget 2018 announced the province would establish the Manitoba Film and Video Production Tax Credit Working Group.  The group will evaluate the effectiveness and the outcomes of the tax credit including factors such as return on investment.  The working group held its inaugural meeting on April 18 and is anticipated to submit its final report this summer, Cox added.

“We have seen a lot of exciting growth in the film and video industry.  The sector is highly competitive and Manitoba understands the importance and benefits of having production work done here,” Friesen said.  “We want to reach out to the industry and use an evidence-based approach to determine how effective the tax credit is and whether there are ways to do things better for the sector and all Manitobans.”

The working group will review similar tax credits in other jurisdictions and offer advice on what level of support is required to maintain Manitoba’s competitive advantage, have sustainable future growth, and establish performance and results-based indicators.

– 30 –



Jeff Peeler – president, Frantic Films; chair, On Screen Manitoba; working group chair

Ian Dimerman – producer, Inferno Pictures Inc.

Michael Drabot – vice-president and general manager, William F. White International Inc.

Meghan Duffy – president, Black Watch Entertainment

Lisa Meeches – president, Eagle Vision Inc.

Chris McIvor – president, Frank Digital

Rachel Margolis – partner and entertainment lawyer, MLT Aikins

Nicole Matiation – executive director, On Screen Manitoba

Rob Rowan – business agent, International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) Local 856 and 669

For more information:

  • Public information, contact Manitoba Government Inquiry: 1-866-626-4862 or 204-945-3744.
  • Media requests for general information, contact Communications Services Manitoba: 204-945-3765.
  • Media requests for ministerial comment, contact Communications and Stakeholder Relations: 204-945-4916.

On Screen Manitoba remercie ses partenaires pour leurs soutiens