Manitobans nominated for Canadian Screen Awards 2020

February 25, 2020

Last week the Canadian Screen Awards nominees for 2020 were announced. Listed below are the Manitoban nominees:

Tina Keeper is the recipient of the Earl Grey Award, which recognizes persons with an exceptional body of work in Canadian television. 

In film, Stand!, produced by Danny Schur and Frantic Films, is nominated for Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design for Marian Wihak;  Nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up, produced by Jon Montes of the NFB and directed by Tasha Hubbard, is nominated for Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary; and, The Twentieth Century, by expat Matthew Rankin, is nominated in eight categories including Best Motion PictureAchievement in DirectionPerformance by an Actor in a Leading RoleOriginal Screenplay and the John Dunning Best First Feature Film Award.

In television, Baroness Von Sketch, produced by Frantic Films, is nominated for Best Sketch Comedy Show & Ensemble PerformanceBest Picture Editing, ComedyBest Writing, Variety or Sketch ComedyBest Direction, Variety or Sketch Comedy and Best Photography, ComedyStill Standing, produced by Frantic Films, is nominated for Best Direction, FactualBest Writing, FactualBest Photograhy, Documentary or FactualBest Picture Editing, FactualBest Host or Presenter, Factual or Reality/Competition and the Barbara Sears Award for Best Editorial ResearchBurden of Truth, coproduced by Eagle Vision, is nominated for Best Lead Actor, Drama Series for Peter Mooney and Best Photography, Drama for Thom Best; Turtle Beach, produced by Merit Motion Pictures, is nominated for the Rob Stewart Award for Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series and Best Direction, Documentary Program for Caroline Underwood; Humboldt: The New Season, produced by FRANK Digital, is nominated for Best Documentary ProgramFirst Contact, produced by APTN, Animiki See Digital Productions and Nüman Films, is nominated for Best Factual Series and Best Direction, Factual for Jeff Newman and Randy Frykas; Leslea Mair and Leif Kaldor of Zoot Pictures Inc. are nominated for Best Writing, Documentary for Something in the Air; The Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) is nominated for Best National NewscastBest Photography, News or Information for APTN Investigates’ Rob Smith and Best News Anchor, National for Melissa Rigden and Dennis Ward.

Manitobans nominated for projects that shot outside of the Province include, Norma Bailey for Best Direction, Drama Series for Mary Kills People; Dan Skene nominated for Best Stunt Coordination for Letterkenny; and Wendy Crewson who is nominated for Best Guest Performance, Comedy for Workin’ Moms.

Read the full nomination list and media coverage: Playback (paywall), Radio-CanadaHollywood ReporterCTV NewsThe StarCBCHello MagazineNOW TorontoWinnipeg Free Press (paywall), La PresseLe DevoirPOV Magazine

On Screen Manitoba thanks its sustaining partners