Guy Maddin


Guy Maddin is a Canadian filmmaker with numerous shorts and 11 feature films to his credit, including the Emmy Award-winning ballet film Dracula — Pages From A Virgin’s Diary (2002); The Saddest Music in the World (2003); My Winnipeg (2007); and US National Society of Film Critics Best Experimental Film Prize-winners Archangel (1990) and The Heart of the World (2000). He is also a member of The Order of Canada & The Order of Manitoba.




  • Best Live Action Short Drama

    For The Heart of the World (2000) at 2002 Genie Awards

  • SXSW Grand Jury Award

    For Experimental Short Night Mayor (2009) at 2010 SXSW Film Festival

  • Silver Medallion Award

    At 1995 Telluride Film Festival, US. Shared with: Jan Svankmajer, Stephen Quay, Timothy Quay. The Surrealists

  • Rogers Award

    Best Canadian Film: The Forbidden Room (2015) at the Toronto Film Critics Association Awards. Shared with Evan Johnson.

  • Best Canadian Feature Film

    For My Winnipeg (2007) at TIFF.

  • Phillip Borsos Award

    Best Canadian Film for Keyhole (2011) at the Whistler Film Festival.

  • FIPRESCI Prize

    Best Short Subject for The Heart of the World (2000) at the Miami Film Festival.

On Screen Manitoba thanks its sustaining partners