Two Manitoba Projects Enter 2015/16 Telefilm Microbudget Program

June 15, 2015

Telefilm Canada today unveiled the 15 finalists for the 2015-2016 edition of its Micro-budget Production Program at a press event this morning at the TIFF Bell Lightbox. On Screen Manitoba members Jeremy Guenette and Gabriel Levesque are finalists in the new Official-Language Minority stream for their project MIA.

“Official-Language Minority Communities” is a new funding stream introduced by Telefilm to the micro-budget project this year. The stream applies to English-language productions originating in predominately Francophone communities or regions, or French-language projects originating in English Canada.

On Screen Manitoba was a designated partner for the recommendation stage of this year’s program for the new OLMC component, launched on January 19.

The program is comprised of three different components:

Main component
Aboriginal component
Official-Language Minority Communities (OLMC) component

There is a two-stage application process:

Recommendation Stage:
Prospective creative teams, with their project, must apply to one of the diverse groups of designated partners for this program (see lists below).  Each designated partner recommends one project to Telefilm Canada for consideration.

At the end of the Recommendation Stage, Telefilm will issue an invitation to the projects eligible to advance to the Application Stage. These letters will be sent to the designated partners.

Application Stage:
For projects invited to apply, the applicant then applies to Telefilm as a corporation using eTelefilm (see List of Required Documents below).

Pending final approval, each production can receive up to $120,000 in financing through the program and Technicolor is offering free digital distribution coding services for all projects selected as finalists.

Full list of 2015 – 2016 finalists:

Offical-Language minority:

(Mitchell Stafiej, Daniel Dietzel)
Memory is Our Homeland (Jonathan Durand)
MIA (Jeremy Guenette, Gabriel Levesque)

Aboriginal component:

The Edict (Benjamin Ross Hayden)
River of Silence (Micheal Auger, Danette Chalifoux)

Main component:

Cardinal (Greyson Moore, Adian Shipley, Kristy Neville, Marianna Margaret, Justin Elchakieh)
Feuilles mortes (Thierry Bouffard, Steve Landry, Edouard Tremblay, Jean-Francois Dugal, Eric Denis, Charles Gaudreau)
The Hanging Tree (Marshall Axani, Diana Donaldson)
The Land of Rock and Gold (Janine Windolph, Daniel Redenbach)
Play Your Gender  (Stephanie Clattenberg, Sahar Yousefi)
The Space Between (Amy Jo Johnson, Jessica Adams)
The Stand Up Man (Aram Collier, Tony Lau)
The Sun at Midnight (Kirsten Carthew, Amos Scott)
The Train Whistle Does Not Blow (Ashley McKenzie, Nelson MacDonald)
Une fille comme moi (Kristina Wagenbauer, Genevieve Simard)


On Screen Manitoba thanks its sustaining partners